Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Essential Health Benefits: Individual Market Coverage

Publication Date

The Affordable Care Act identified ten categories of services and items included in essential health benefits (EHBs). All ten categories of services and items must be covered by insurance offered in the individual and small group markets as of January 1, 2014. According to data on currently marketed plans submitted by health insurance companies to, many individuals and families who purchase their own health insurance do not currently have coverage for several of the categories of benefits included in EHBs, including maternity, mental health, substance abuse, and prescription drugs. Americans who buy coverage in the individual market in 2014 will gain access to all categories of essential health benefits. [2 PDF Pages]

Product Type
Location- & Geography-Based Data
National Data