Advisory Council on Alzheimer's Research, Care, and Services Members


An Advisory Council on Alzheimer's Research, Care, and Services was established to advise the Secretary for HHS on work conducted or needed regarding ADRD, and provide recommendations for the National Plan on a yearly basis. The Advisory Council meets officially every quarter for public meetings, and through subcommittee meet as often as necessary.

The Advisory Council is made up of federal and non-federal members. Federal members are comprised of experts/designees from: the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; the Administration on Aging; the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; the Indian Health Service; the National Institutes of Health;; the National Science Foundation; the Department of Veterans Affairs; the Food and Drug Administration; and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Non-federal members include: Alzheimer's patient advocates; Alzheimer's caregivers; health care providers; state health department representatives; researchers with Alzheimer's-related expertise; and voluntary health association representatives.


Table of Contents

Non-Federal Advisory Council Members

Federal Advisory Council Members

Comments and questions, or alerts to broken links, should be sent to

Non-Federal Advisory Council Member Biographies

Chair -- Ronald Petersen, Ph.D., M.D.

Dr. Petersen is the Cadieux Director of the Mayo Alzheimer's Disease Research Center and the Mayo Clinic Study of Aging. He has authored over 400 peer-reviewed articles on memory disorders, aging, and Alzheimer's disease and edited four books on related topics. His current research focuses on the study of normal aging, mild cognitive impairment, and Alzheimer's disease.


Gary Epstein-Lubow

Dr. Lubow is an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior at the Warren Alpert Medical School at Brown University. He is a geriatric psychiatrist with research, teaching, policy, clinical, and administrative experience related to treating persons with dementia in collaborative shared decision-making models with family caregivers.


Laura Gitlin

Dr. Gitlin is a professor and the Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Innovative Care in Aging. She is nationally and internationally recognized in the areas of nonpharmacologic approaches in dementia care, family caregiving, functional disability and aging in place.


Harry M. Johns

Mr. Johns is the President and CEO of the Alzheimer's Association, the world's leading nonprofit organization in Alzheimer research, care and support. With more than 70 chapters and nearly 300 offices, the Association provides nationwide support to individuals and families through community-based programs and a 24 hour a day/365 days a year Help Line. Under Mr. Johns' leadership, the Alzheimer's Association has undertaken a campaign to change the conversation about Alzheimer's in America through public education and has played a leading role in convening, supporting, and advancing Alzheimer's research as well as informing public policy.


Myriam Marquez

Ms. Marquez was diagnosed with young-onset Alzheimer's in 2009 and has been a fierce advocate ever since. Prior to her diagnosis, she served as a public defender in Washington State. Her legal background in county, state and federal public policy and her personal experience living with dementia has made her a deeply-committed advocate for advancing dementia research, care and services.


Helen M. Matheny, M.S., A.P.R.

Ms. Matheny is the Director of the Alzheimer's Disease Outreach and Registry Program (AORP) at the Blanchette Rockefeller Neurosciences Institute. Under her leadership, the Alzheimer's Disease Outreach and Registry Program provides training and tools to physicians to assist with screening, diagnosis, treatment, and care of patients with Alzheimer's disease. The unique program also maintains the West Virginia Alzheimer's Disease Registry, collecting information on Alzheimer's cases from physicians to create reports that are used for research and the development of policy to support the growing number of Alzheimer's cases in the state.


Jennifer Mead

Ms. Mead is the Healthy Aging Coordinator for Oregon DHS-State Unit on Aging where she is a liaison with the state public health division to increasing health promotion and disease prevention strategies for older adults. Ms. Mead previously served as program director for the Alzheimer's Association in southeastern Virginia, worked in West Virginia on community public health and primary care projects, and served in the Peace Corps in West Africa. She was a long-distance caregiver for her mother who had dementia.


Angela Taylor

Ms. Taylor serves as the Director of Programs at the Lewy Body Dementia Association (LBDA), and has the responsibility to oversee LBDA's national programs and services, including outreach, education, awareness programming, and research initiatives.


Sowande Tichawonna

Mr. Tichawonna is an award-winning independent filmmaker and actor from Washington, D.C. He was a caregiver for his mother, who suffered from dementia, and is currently caring for his son with Down syndrome. His experiences will keep the concerns of the millions of caregivers around the country at the forefront of the Advisory Council's conversation.


Donna Walberg

Ms. Walberg provides Alzheimer's disease expertise and project development and management for the Minnesota Board on Aging, where she worked to draft and pass the legislation to create Minnesota's Alzheimer's Plan and served on the state-wide workgroup to develop the plan.


Geraldine Woolfolk

Ms. Woolfolk is a former teacher who served as a caregiver for both her mother and father, and cared for her husband for the past 12 years. She actively participates in support groups for caregivers and has advocated on Capitol Hill for research funding and community supports for caregivers. She assisted in the Alameda County plan for Alzheimer's disease and is known in the area for her conference presentations and work on these issues.

Federal Advisory Council Member Agency Affiliations

Department of Health and Human Services

Bruce Finke, M.D., Elder Care Consultant, Indian Health Service

Richard Hodes, M.D., Director, National Institute on Aging, National Institutes of Health

Ruth Katz, Associate Deputy Assistant Secretary for Disability, Aging and Long-Term Care Policy, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation

Shari Ling, M.D., Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Center for Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Erin Long, Office of Supportive and Caregiver Services, Administration on Aging/Administration for Community Living

Lisa C. McGuire, PhD, Lead Alzheimer’s Disease and Healthy Aging Program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

William Spector, Ph.D., Senior Social Scientist, Center for Delivery, Organization, and Markets, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Joan Weiss, Ph.D., R.N., C.R.N.P., F.A.A.N., Chief, Geriatrics and Allied Health Branch, Health Resources and Services Administration


Department of Defense

Anthony Pacifico, Ph.D., Militarily Relevant Peer Reviewed Alzheimer's Research Program Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center MCMR-TT


National Science Foundation

Deborah Olster, Ph.D., Senior Science Advisor, Directorate for Social, Behavioral, and Economic Science


Department of Veterans Affairs

Richard M. Allman, M.D., Chief Consultant for Geriatrics and Extended Care Services

Return to

National Alzheimer's Project Act Home Page

Advisory Council on Alzheimer's Research, Care, and Services Page