2020 Annual Poverty Research and Policy Forum: Agenda

One Destination, Many Roads: Envisioning Universal Measures of Economic Mobility

September 9 & 16, 2020
1:00 P.M. – 3:00 P.M. Eastern/12:00 P.M. – 2:00 P.M. Central
11:00 A.M. – 1:00 P.M. Mountain/10:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. Pacific
A virtual series organized by the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) and the Institute for Research on Poverty at the University of Wisconsin–Madison

Agenda – September 9 (All Times In Eastern)

1:00 – 1:15 WELCOME AND OVERVIEW
Katherine Magnuson, Director, Institute for Research on Poverty
Brenda Destro, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1:15 – 1:35 KEYNOTE
Robert M. Goerge, Senior Research Fellow, Chapin Hall, University of Chicago
1:35 – 2:55 PRESENTATIONS AND PANEL DISCUSSION: State Lessons for Federal Efforts

Presenters/Panelists
  • Maryland, Christina Church, Two-Generation Program Officer, Maryland Department of Human Service
  • Utah, Tracy Gruber, Senior Advisor for the Utah Intergenerational Poverty Initiative
  • Washington, David Mancuso, Director of the Research and Data Analysis Division, Washington State Department of Social and Health Services
  • Colorado, Ki’i Powell, Director of the Office of Economic Security, Colorado Department of Human Services (CDHS)
Moderator: Kosar Jahani, Project Officer, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
2:55 – 3:00 WRAP-UP/CLOSING
Katherine Magnuson, Director, Institute for Research on Poverty

Agenda – September 16 (All Times In Eastern)

1:00 – 1:05 WELCOME AND OVERVIEW
Katherine Magnuson, Director, Institute for Research on Poverty
1:05 – 1:25 KEYNOTE
Ted McCann, Vice President, American Idea Foundation
1:25 – 1:55 BREAKOUT GROUP DISCUSSIONS: Incorporating Stakeholder Perspectives
1:55 – 2:50 PANEL DISCUSSION: ;Establishing a Roadmap for the Path Forward

Panelists:
  • Julia Lane, Provostial Fellow for Innovation Analytics; Professor, NYU Wagner School or Public Policy and Co-founder of the Coleridge Initiative
  • Sara Dube, Director, Results First Initiative, The Pew Charitable Trusts
  • David Williams, Director of Policy Outreach, Opportunity Insights
Moderator: Nick Hart, President of the Data Foundation and CEO of the Data Coalition
2:50 – 3:00 WRAP-UP/CLOSING
Katherine Magnuson, Director, Institute for Research on Poverty

Return to the 2020 Annual Poverty Research and Policy Forum landing page.