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ALASKA 
 
 
Citation Assisted living homes:  Alaska Statute §47.32.010 et seq.; §47.33.01 et. seq.; 7 

Alaska Administrative Code §75.010 et seq.; 7 AAC 10.010; 7 ACC 43:1058(h)  
 Medicaid waivers:  Amounts of reimbursement for HCBS 
 
 
General Approach and Recent Developments 
 

A law centralizing licensing and procedures for multiple types of entities, including 
assisted living homes, became law in 2004. The Assisted Living Licensing Unit was transferred 
from the Division of Senior and Disability Services to the Division of Public Health in 2004. 
Changes in the safety and sanitation requirements were effective in 2006. The Alaska BCU was 
created in 2007 and provides centralized background check support for programs that provide for 
the health, safety, and welfare of persons who are served by the programs administered by 
DHSS.  
 

The state continues to support the expansion of assisted living homes into rural areas. 
Assistance with planning and technical support is provided wherever possible. 
 
 
Adult Foster Care 
 

Assisted living rules include adult foster homes that serve three or more residents. The term 
“adult foster care” is the prior name used for what is now licensed as assisted living homes.  
Nothing in the regulations prohibit an assisted living home that is licensed and that serves five or 
fewer residents from using the term “adult foster home” or “assisted living foster home.” 
 

Web Address Content 
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-
bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=[jump!3A!27title7chap75!27]/doc/%7B@38883%7D?  

Rules 

http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/CL/ALL/forms.htm Provider tools, guide 
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/CL/forms/default.htm  Forms 
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/CL/PDFs/ALHomes.pdf List 

 
 

Supply 
2007 2004 2002 Category Facilities Units Facilities Units Facilities Units 

Assisted living homes 229 1,912 162 1,650 143 1,497 

 
 
Definition 
 

An assisted living home means a residential facility that serves three or more adults who 
are not related to the owner by blood or marriage, or that receives state or federal payment for 
services regardless of the number of adults served; the department shall consider a facility to be 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=[jump!3A!27title7chap75!27]/doc/%7B@38883%7D?
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=[jump!3A!27title7chap75!27]/doc/%7B@38883%7D?
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/CL/ALL/forms.htm
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/CL/forms/default.htm
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dph/CL/PDFs/ALHomes.pdf
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an assisted living home if the facility provides housing and food services to its residents; offers 
to provide or obtain for its residents assistance with ADLs; offers personal assistance as defined 
in Alaska Statutes 47.33.990; or provides or offers any combination of these services. Personal 
assistance services includes assistance with ADLs and/or personal assistance (help with IADLs, 
obtaining supportive services [recreational, leisure, transportation, social, legal, etc.], awareness 
of the resident’s whereabouts when traveling in the community, and monitoring activities). 
 
 
Unit Requirements 
 

Single occupancy units must provide 80 square feet and double occupancy units, 140 
square feet.  No more than two residents may share a room.  A facility must meet life safety code 
requirements applicable for buildings of its size.  Homes for six or more people must meet 
applicable state and municipal standards for sanitation and environmental protection.  Because of 
the size of the state and the geographic variation within it, the licensing standards are based on 
community and neighborhood standards rather than a statewide standard.  This allows homes to 
be licensed that are consistent with prevailing local housing standards. 
 
 
Admission/Retention Policy 
 

Residents who have exceeded the 45 consecutive day limit for receiving 24-hour skilled 
nursing (see below) may continue to live at the home if the home and the resident or resident’s 
representative have consulted with the resident’s physician and discussed the consequences and 
risks.  In addition, a revised plan without 24-hour nursing must have been reviewed by a RN.  
Terminally ill residents may continue to reside in the residence if a physician certifies that the 
person’s needs are being met. 
 

Evacuation requirements are included in life safety code standards and facility procedures 
for emergency evacuation drills.  
 

Since the regulations governing admission/retention are broad, waivers of the requirements 
are not needed.  The rules do allow variances of any provision of the chapter that will promote 
aging-in-place and meet the goals of the rules. 
 
 
Nursing Home Admission Policy 
 

Individuals meet the HCBS LOC criteria if they: 
 

− Receive a listed nursing service daily;  
− Receive a nursing service less than daily and require limited, extensive, or total 

assistance with two ADLs (bed mobility, transfer, locomotion, eating, toilet use, 
personal hygiene, walking, bathing);  
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− Have impaired cognition and require limited, extensive or total assistance with two 
ADLs; or  

− Have behaviors (wandering, verbal or physical abuse, socially inappropriate) and 
require limited, extensive, or total assistance with two ADLs. 

 
 
Services 
 

Each resident must have an assisted living plan (developed within 30 days of move-in and 
approved by the resident or their representative) that identifies strengths and weaknesses 
performing ADLs, physical disabilities and impairments, preferences for roommates, living 
environment, food, recreation, religious affiliation and other factors.  The plan also identifies the 
ADLs with which the resident needs help, how help will be provided by the home or other 
agencies, and health-related services and how they will be addressed.  Health-related services 
include assistance with self-administration of medication, intermittent nursing services, 24-hour 
skilled nursing for 45 days, and hospice services.  
 

The plan must promote the resident’s participation in the community and increased 
independence through training and support, in order to provide the resident with an environment 
suited to the resident’s needs and best interests.   
 

Negotiated risk is addressed during the care planning process.  The plan must recognize the 
responsibility and right of the resident or the resident’s representative to evaluate and choose, 
after discussion with all relevant parties, including the home, the risks associated with each 
option when making decisions pertaining to the resident’s abilities, preferences, and service 
needs; and recognize the right of the home to evaluate and to either consent or refuse to accept 
the resident’s choice of risks.  
 

The plan must also identify the resident’s reasonable wants and how those will be 
addressed.  If health-related services are provided or arranged, the evaluation must be done 
quarterly.  If no health-related services are provided, an annual evaluation is required.  Assisted 
living homes may provide intermittent nursing services to residents who do not require 24-hour 
care and supervision.  Intermittent nursing tasks may be delegated to unlicensed staff for tasks 
designated by the Board of Nursing. 
 
 
Dietary 
 

An assisted living home shall offer three balanced, nutritious meals and at least one snack 
daily at consistent times.  A home shall ensure that the meals and snacks offered include the 
recommended number of servings of each food type set out in the USDA publication, The Food 
Guide Pyramid, as revised October 1996 and adopted by reference.  The home shall offer a wide 
variety of food that includes fresh fruits and vegetables as often as possible.  Additionally, the 
home shall consider each resident’s health-related or religious restrictions, cultural or ethnic 
preferences in food preparation, and preference for smaller portions, as reflected in the resident’s 
residential services contract. 
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Agreements 
 

Terms for the residential services contract are specified in statute. The contract must be 
signed prior to move-in that describes the services and accommodations; rates charged; rights, 
duties and obligations of the resident; policies and procedures for termination of the contract; 
amount and purpose of advance payments; and refund policy. 
 
 
Provisions for Serving People with Dementia 
 

The rules do not include specific provisions.  
 
 
Medication Administration 
 

Aides (home staff persons) may provide medication reminders, read labels, open 
containers, observe a resident while taking medication, check self-administered dosage against 
the label, reassure the resident that the dosage is correct, and direct/guide the hand of a resident 
at the resident’s request.  The authority for RNs to delegate tasks is contained in the nurse 
delegation statute and rules. 
 
 
Public Financing 
 

A broad HCBS waiver covers services in assisted living homes for elders and adults with 
disabilities.  The room and board payment is negotiated between the home and the resident.  In a 
limited number of cases, room and board and some services are covered by the state’s “general 
relief” program.  The payment standard for SSI recipients is $985 a month and the PNA is $100 
a month.  Family supplementation is allowed for room and board.  A new SSI payment standard 
is being created for assisted living homes ($654, including a $100 PNA).  
 

Medicaid Participation 
2007 2004 2002 

Facilities Participation Facilities Participation Facilities Participation 
235 730 174 632 126 492 

 
Services for Medicaid waiver certified individuals in assisted living homes are funded 

under the state’s Choice Program, a Medicaid HCBS waiver.  Rates vary by area of the state.  A 
multiplier that ranges from 1.0 to 1.38 is applied to the rates, resulting in higher payments in 
rural and frontier areas (i.e., $100 service in one region may be reimbursed at $138 in another 
region).  Providers receive a basic service rate that varies for AFC, adult residential I, and adult 
residential II.  An “augmented service rate cost factor” is available for clients whose needs 
warrant the hiring or designating of additional staff.  The “augmented care” payment recognizes 
the added staffing needed by homes caring for residents needing incontinent care, skin care, 
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added supervision, and help with medication.  Some residents also attend ADC.  The service rate 
is lower for residents attending day care at least three days a week.  
 

Contracted homes have the option of receiving payment according the tiers or cost-based 
reimbursement.  About half the contracted homes have applied for cost-based reimbursement.  
The average cost-based rate is $130 a day but is as high as $234.  
 

Medicaid Payment Rates, July 1, 2004 

Anchorage Area ADC Basic Rate Basic Service Rate Augmented Factor 
Basic and 

Augmented* 
Adult foster care $32.93 $44.52 $17.37 $70.54 
Adult residential I $44.52 $56.10 $17.37 $82.13 
Adult residential II $56.10 $67.68 $17.37 $93.70 
* Total rate includes an $8.65 daily service rate. See http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dsds/pdfs/ChoiceRSLRate20046-30-04.pdf. 

 
 
Staffing 
 

Administrators must be 21 years of age or older and have sufficient experience, training, or 
education to fulfill the responsibilities of an administrator.  Administrators in homes with ten or 
fewer units must fulfill at least one of the following requirements: complete an approved 
management or administrator training course and one year of documented experience relevant to 
population to be served, or complete a CNA training program and have at least one year of 
documented experience relevant to the population to be served, or two years of documented care 
experience relevant to the population to be served.    

 
Staff.  Homes must have the type and number of staff needed to operate the home and must 

develop a staffing plan that is appropriate to provide services required by resident care plans.  
Staff must pass a criminal background check. 
 
 
Training 
 

Regulations require that administrators receive 18 hours of training annually, direct care 
staff, 12 hours annually.  Staff providing direct care without supervision must have sufficient 
language skills to meet the needs of residents.  Staff must receive orientation that covers 
emergency procedures, fire safety, resident rights, universal precautions, resident interaction, 
house rules, medication management and security, physical plant layout, and reporting 
responsibilities. 
 
 
Background Check 
 

No person may be employed who has been convicted of crimes listed in the regulations.  
Administrators and staff must provide a sworn statement regarding conviction of listed crimes, 
the results of a name check criminal background check initially and every two years, and a 
national criminal history check based on fingerprints and conducted by the Alaska Department of 
Public Safety initially and every six years. 

http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dsds/pdfs/ChoiceRSLRate20046-30-04.pdf
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Monitoring 
 

Both DHSS and the Division of Senior and Disabilities Services are responsible for 
screening applicants, issuing licenses, and investigating complaints.  The departments may 
delegate responsibility for investigating and making recommendations for licensing to a state, 
municipal, or private agency.  Homes must submit an annual self-monitoring report on forms 
provided by DHSS.  Case managers monitor Choice waiver participants monthly.  
 

Regulations require an annual monitoring visit or self-monitoring report filed by the 
facility.  The licensing agency may impose a range of sanctions: revoking or suspending the 
license, denying renewal, issuing a probationary license, restricting the type of care provided, 
banning or imposing conditions on admissions, or imposing a civil fine.  
 

The state describes its oversight and monitoring process as consultative.  The state acts as a 
licensing body first, but also sees itself as educators and teachers.  If violations are found through 
the inspection and monitoring process, the state will hand out notices of violation, but will 
provide education regarding how to improve care, or address the violation. 
 

Currently, the state has limited staff resources to provide as much education and training, 
as they would like.  When a pattern of violations is identified, a more industry-wide, versus a 
one-on-one, training approach is implemented.  The state still holds planned orientations for new 
or potentially new assisted living homes every three months, but training can be extended out to 
six months if there is not staff available to conduct formal orientation training. 
 

Licensing staff currently monitor homes as well as provide consultation through education 
and teaching.  After the consolidation of Assisted Living Licensing with Public Health this 
process may change at some point in the future.  They envision possibly rearranging, or 
reassigning existing staff to perform separate functions. 
 
 
Fees 
 

Voluntary license:  $25 per resident.  License for 3-5 residents -- $75, six or more residents 
-- $150, plus $25 per resident over three residents. 
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	 NOTES ON STATE SUMMARIES
	Each state summary includes the regulatory or statutory citation and category name and includes information on the following, when available:
	Arizona Long-Term Care Systems (ALTCS)
	Administrators
	Staff

	Class F home care providers are surveyed before a license is approved or renewed. A licensee that has been licensed for at least two consecutive years and that has been in substantial compliance with this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, Sections 144A.43 to 144A.47, and has had no serious violations in that period, may be surveyed every second license term rather than during each license term. 




