Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee

PTAC Public Meeting Agenda

March 3-4, 2025

Hybrid Meeting

(Livestream and public commenter participation details for the meeting to be provided with registration.)

Monday, March 3, 2025	
Starting Time Eastern (EST) *	Presentation Title
9:30 a.m.	Welcome and Co-Chair Update Reducing Barriers to Participation in Population-Based Total Cost of Care (PB-TCOC) Models and Supporting Primary and Specialty Care Transformation Day 1
9:40 a.m.	PCDT Presentation: Reducing Barriers to Participation in PB-TCOC Models and Supporting Primary and Specialty Care Transformation
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:40 a.m.	 Roundtable Panel Discussion: Perspectives of Chief Financial Officers (CFOs) / Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) on Reducing Barriers to Participation in PB-TCOC Models Christopher Crow, MD, MBA – Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Catalyst Health Group Chase Hammon, MBA – Chief Financial Officer, Duly Health and Care Jessica Walradt, MS – Vice President, Finance, VBC Contracting and Performance, Northwestern Medicine Brock Slabach, MPH, FACHE – Chief Operating Officer, National Rural Health Association (NRHA) Michael Barbati, MHA – Vice President of Government Programs, Enterprise Population Health, Advocate Health Committee Discussion and Q&A Session
12:10 p.m.	Break
1:10 p.m.	 Listening Session 1: Reducing Organization-Level Barriers Affecting Participation in PB-TCOC Models Clif Gaus, ScD, MHA – Past President and Chief Executive Officer, National Association of ACOs David Johnson, MD, MPH – Assistant Professor of Urology, University of North Carolina, and Clinical Operating Partner, Rubicon Founders Angelo Sinopoli, MD – Executive Vice President of Value-Based Care, Cone Health Dan Liljenquist, JD – Chief Strategy Officer, Intermountain Health Committee Discussion and Q&A Session
2:40 p.m.	Break
2:50 p.m.	 Listening Session 2: Supporting Primary and Specialty Care Transformation Elizabeth Mitchell – President and Chief Executive Officer, Purchaser Business Group on Health (PBGH) Joe Kimura, MD, MPH – Chief Medical Officer, Somatus Robert E. Mechanic, MBA – Senior Fellow, Heller School of Social Policy and Management, Brandeis University, Executive Director, Institute for Accountable Care Frank Opelka, MD, FACS – Principal Consultant, Episodes of Care Solutions (Previous submitter - The ACS-Brandeis Advanced APM proposal) Committee Discussion and Q&A Session
4:20 p.m.	Break
4:30 p.m.	Committee Discussion
4.30 p.iii.	

^{*} Session times are estimated.

Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee

Tuesday, March 4, 2025	
Starting Time Eastern (EST) *	Presentation Title
9:00 a.m. 9:10 a.m.	 Welcome and Co-Chair Overview Reducing Barriers to Participation in PB-TCOC Models and Supporting Primary and Specialty Care Transformation Day 2 Opening Remarks Abe Sutton, JD, Director, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (CMMI), and Deputy Administrator, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Panel Discussion: Enhancing the Ability of PB-TCOC Models to Be Competitive J. Michael McWilliams, MD, PhD – Warren Alpert Foundation Professor of Health Care Policy and Professor of Medicine, Department of Health Care Policy, Harvard Medical School
	 Stephen M. Shortell, PhD, MBA – Blue Cross of California Distinguished Professor of Health Policy and Management Emeritus, Dean Emeritus, and Professor of the Graduate School at the School of Public Health and Haas School of Business, University of California-Berkeley Jose Peña, MD, FACP – Chairman of the Board and Chief Medical Director, Rio Grande Valley (RGV) ACO Health Providers, LLC Tim Layton, PhD – Associate Professor of Public Policy and Economics, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy, University of Virginia Committee Discussion and Q&A Session
10:40 a.m.	BREAK
10:50 a.m.	 Listening Session 3: How to Maximize Participation of Beneficiaries in Accountable Care and Improve the Sustainability of Effective PB-TCOC Models David Muhlestein, PhD, JD – Chief Executive Officer, Simple Healthcare Sanjay K. Shetty, MD, MBA – President, CenterWell, Humana Sean Cavanaugh, MPH – Chief Policy Officer, Aledade Karl Koenig, MD, MS – Executive Director of the Musculoskeletal Institute, Division Chief of Orthopaedic Surgery, and Associate Professor of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Dell Medical School, The University of Texas at Austin Committee Discussion and Q&A Session
12:20 p.m.	Lunch Break
1:20 p.m.	Public Comment Period
1:50 p.m.	Committee Discussion
2:20 p.m.	Closing Remarks and Public Meeting Adjourns

^{*} Session times are estimated.