(1) In the case of benefit denial due to voluntary quit or discharge for cause, the UI applicant may re-qualify for UI benefits in the following manner: In Florida, 'by earning 17 times the client’s weekly benefit amount (WBA); In Michigan, by earning the lesser of seven times the client’s WBA or seven times 40 times Michigan’s minimum wage (7 x 40 x MI minimum wage); In Ohio, by having six weeks of work in covered employment with the amount of wages in each week at least 27.5 percent of the state’s average weekly wage; and for Texas, by earning six times the client’s WBA. Source: “Comparison of State Unemployment Insurance Laws (2001),” U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, Tables 401 and 402.
(2) For claimants not eligible based on earnings in the standard base period, earnings in an alternate base year (ABY) — the most recent four completed calendar quarters, is checked in Michigan and Ohio. In Texas an ABY may be considered where work is missed due to a medically verifiable illness, injury, disability, or pregnancy during a major portion of the usual base period. An ABY amendment was considered in the 2002 Florida legislature, but did not pass both houses.
(3) The Base Period Earnings (BPE) requirement is indexed to a multiple of the state average weekly wage (AWW) in UI covered employment or the state minimum wage in Michigan, and to a multiple of the minimum WBA in Texas. The required level of earnings to qualify for UI is set by the legislatures in Florida and Ohio.
(4) The minimum base period earnings to qualify for UI is 1.5 times the minimum high quarter earnings in Florida and Michigan.
(5) Three other states have employment requirements. New Jersey requires 20 weeks or a different earnings formula. Pennsylvania requires 16 weeks. The Washington rule requires 680 hours and one dollar of earnings.
(6) Breakeven earnings are computed as the TANF benefit amount divided by (1-disregard rate) plus the lump sum disregard.
(7) Legal basis for this policy by the Michigan Department of Human Services is set forth in Michigan Public Act 280 of 1939, as amended, which is known as the Social Welfare Act.
(8) Administrative Legal basis for this policy by the Michigan Department of Human Services is set forth in Michigan Public Act 280 of 1939, as amended, which is known as the Social Welfare Act. Policy requiring claiming of UI is stated in the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) Cash Assistance Manual.
(9) Legal basis for this policy is in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 1, Part 15, Chapter 372 (Texas Works), Subchapter B (Eligibility), Division 7 (Income).