|State||Medicaid: Two-parent family eligibility based solely on financial circumstances a/||Expanded Health Care Coverage to two parent families c/||Medicaid Income limits for Pregnant Women
(% FPL) b/
|SCHIP and State-only Coverage|
|Arizona||X||Medicaid income disregard d/||140||Covers parents through SCHIP.|
|California||X||Medicaid income disregard.||300||Covers parents through SCHIP.|
|Delaware||X||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver e/||200|
|District of Columbia||X||Medicaid income disregard||200|
|Hawaii||X||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver||185|
|Maine||Medicaid income disregard||200|
|Minnesota||X||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver; Medicaid income disregard||275||Covers parents through SCHIP.|
|Missouri||X||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver||185|
|Montana||X||Medicaid income disregard||133|
|New Jersey||X||185||Covers parents through SCHIP.|
|New Mexico||X||Medicaid income disregard||185|
|New York||X||Medicaid income disregard||185|
|Ohio||X||Medicaid income disregard||185|
|Oklahoma||Medicaid income disregard||185|
|Oregon||X||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver; Medicaid income disregard||170||State provides coverage through state-only program (FHIAP)|
|Pennsylvania||Medicaid income disregard||185|
|Rhode Island||X||Medicaid income disregard||250||Covers parents through SCHIP; State provides coverage through state-only program|
|Tennessee||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver||185|
|Vermont||X||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver; Medicaid income disregard||200|
|Washington||X||Medicaid income disregard||185||State provides coverage through state-only program|
|Wisconsin||Expanded coverage through Medicaid 1115 waiver; Medicaid income disregard||185||Coverage of parents through SCHIP|
|Wyoming||Medicaid income disregard||133|
a/ Source: http://www.spdp.org./medicaid/table_7.htm; As of March 1, 2000, California waived the 100-hour and work history rules for any new applicant family with net earnings below 100 percent of the federal poverty level.
b/ Source: Kaiser Family Foundation Health Facts Online at http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org; The minimum limit is 133% of the FPL or whatever level the state had in place in December 1989 (which ever is higher). This amount ranges from 133 to 185% FPL.
c/ Source: http://statecoverage.net/issuebrief500-2.pdf
d/ The Federal government requires states to disregard $90 in monthly income for applicants' work-related expenses; under Section 1931, states have the option to expand income disregards effectively increasing Medicaid eligibility. The states noted have income disregards above the mandated $90.
e/ Section 1115 of the Social Security Act gives HHS broad authority to waive provisions in the Medicaid statute (Title XIX). Those expansions noted here aim to expand eligibility.