According to the Vermont Statutes, children under the age of 16 are unable to consent to sexual acts unless the defendant is their spouse. However, in 2000 the Vermont State Supreme Court ruled that this law is only applicable in cases where the defendant is at least 16 years of age.
Definition of Offenses
|Lewd or lascivious conduct with child||With the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust, passions or sexual desires of either party—willfully and lewdly committing any lewd or lascivious act with someone less than 16 years of age.|
|Sexual assault||Engaging in a sexual act with someone less than 16 years of age where the defendant is not the victim’s spouse (see the previous section for exceptions to this law).|
|Aggravated sexual assault||Committing sexual assault upon someone less than 10 years of age where the defendant is at least 18 years of age.|