Setting the Baseline: A Report on State Welfare Waivers. Table IV, Section 1115 Waiver Modifications to Earned Income Disregards

06/01/1997

(as of August 22, 1996, the date of enactment of P.L. 104-193, the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996)

State Flat Earnings Disregard Percentage Earnings Disregard Comments Scope Dates
California $120 33.33%

 

None

Statewide

Start: 10/92

End: 9/97

Colorado $120 58% For recipients only, not new applicants. Increases gross income limit to 130% of federal poverty guideline. Five counties

Start: 4/94

End: 3/99

Connecticut $90 100%

For applicants and recipients who have not received aid in the past four months

For applicants and recipients who have received aid in the past four months and are subject to the time limit.

Fill-the-gap budgeting for non-time-limited applicants and recipients who have received assistance in the past four months only. Eliminates gross income limit.

Statewide

Start: 1/96

End: 12/03

Delaware N/A None Fill-the-gap budgeting for recipients only. Statewide, after phase-in.

Start: 10/95

End: 9/02

Florida $200 50% None Eight counties

Start: 1/94

End: 12/01

Hawaii $200

20% before fixed

36% after fixed

Increased disregards do not take effect until family has received assistance for two full months. Statewide

Start: between 10/96 and 10/97

Duration: 8 yrs

Illinois N/A 66.67% For families that are otherwise eligible. Eliminates gross income limit. Statewide

Start: 10/93

End: 9/97

Indiana N/A None

For recipients, but not applicants, raises the gross income limit to the federal poverty guideline.

Under initial pilot project, froze AFDC benefits for 24 months for working recipients at the benefit level in effect upon entry into employment.

Statewide

Start: 4/95

End: 6/02

Iowa N/A

20% first

50% after all other deductions

For first four months of employment, disregards all earnings of individual who had less than $1200 in earnings for the 12 months before employment began. Statewide

Start: 10/93

End: 9/98

Kansas $90 40% None Statewide

Start: between 9/96 and 8/97

Duration: 7 yrs

Maryland N/A 20% Eliminates gross income limit Statewide

Start: 10/96

End: 9/01

Massachusetts

$120

$120

50%

33.33%

For non-exempt recipients.

For exempt recipients who have received aid within the previous four months.

Statewide

Start: 10/95

End: 9/05

Michigan $200 20% Replaces fill-the-gap policies. Statewide

Start: 10/92

End: 9/99

Minnesota N/A 38% Benefit level is set equal to the maximum grant (AFDC plus food stamps) increased by 20 percent, less net income, but may not exceed the maximum grant. Eliminates gross income limit. Eight counties

Start: 4/94

End: 3/99

Mississippi $120 33.33% Fill-the-gap budgeting without ratable reduction. (Outside of the pilot project, the AFDC grant is 60 percent of the difference between the need standard and countable income.) Leflore and Oktibbeha Cos.

Start: 10/95

End: 9/00

Missouri $30 33.33% For up to 48 months.

Jackson county

(certain zip codes)

Start: 1/93

End: 1/05

Montana

$200

$100

25%

For recipients in unsubsidized jobs.

For recipients in Community Service Program.

Statewide

Start: 1/96

End: 12/04

Nebraska N/A 60% For participants who elect the "high-disregards" options. Two counties, then statewide

Start: 10/95

End: 9/02

New Hampshire N/A 50% Eliminates gross income limit. Statewide

Start: between 7/96 and 7/97

Duration: 5 yrs

North Carolina $120 33.33% None Cabarrus County

Start: between 5/96 and 5/97

Duration: 2 yrs

North Dakota N/A varies 27 percent is disregarded for work expenses. An increasing percentage of the remainder is disregarded such that benefits reach zero when earnings reach 133 percent of federal poverty guideline. Ten counties.

Start: 10/96

End: 9/03

Ohio $250 50% For 12 months. Statewide

Start: between 6/96 and 12/96

Duration: 5 yrs

Oklahoma N/A N/A Fill the gap budgeting for earned income only. Six counties

Start: 4/96

End: 3/01

Oregon N/A N/A Increases gross income limit to 130 percent of federal poverty guideline for JOBS Plus participants. Statewide

Start: 7/95

End: 6/02

Pennsylvania $200 30% For recipients with earnings for two consecutive months. Eliminates the gross income limit. Lancaster county On hold by state
Tennessee $134 N/A None Statewide

Start: between 9/96 and 9/97

Duration: 11 yrs

Texas N/A N/A Fill the gap budgeting for families with earned income. Four counties

Start: 4/96

End: 6/02

Utah $100 50% None Seven counties

Start: 1/93

End: 12/00

Vermont $150 25% None Statewide

Start: 7/94

End: 6/01

Virginia N/A 100% Applies to current recipients only, and only until AFDC plus earned income reaches the federal poverty guideline. To be phased in statewide over four years

Start: 7/95

End: 6/03

Washington N/A N/A Cases whose grants are reduced due to length of stay provisions may earn back the amount they were penalized. Statewide

Start: 1/96

End: 12/05

Wisconsin

$120

 

 

 

$200

16.67%

 

 

 

50%

Under Work Not Welfare

 

 

For new applicants under age 20

Two counties

 

 

 

Statewide

Start: 1/95

End: 12/06

Start: 7/94

End: 6/99