Proceedings from a Working Meeting on School Readiness Research: Guiding the Synthesis of Early Childhood Research. Meeting Participants

12/15/2009

Gina Adams

The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20037
Phone: 202-261-5709
Email: gadams@urban.org

Sarah Avellar
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
Email: savellar@mathematica-mpr.com

W. Steven Barnett
Director, NIEER
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
120 Albany Street, Suite 500
New Brunswick, New Jersey 08901
Phone: 732-932-4350 Ext. 228
Email: sbarnett@nieer.org

Jeanne Brooks-Gunn
Virginia and Leonard Marx Professor of Child Development
Teachers College and the College of Physicians and Surgeons
Columbia University
525 West 120th Street, Box 39
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 212-678-3338
Email: brooks-gunn@columbia.edu

Peg Burchinal
FPG Child Development Institute
521 S. Greensboro St
Carrboro NC 27510
Phone: 919-966-5059
Email: burchinal@unc.edu

Natasha Cabrera
Assistant Professor
Human Development
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland, 20742
Phone: 301-405-2827
Email: ncabrera@umd.edu

Ajay Chaurdry
Director, Center on Labor, Human Services, & Population
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
Phone: 202-833-7200
Email: achaudry@urban.org

Peggy Clements
Education Development Center, Inc.
96 Morton Street, 7th Floor
New York, NY 10014
Phone: 212-807-4268
Email: pclements@edc.org

Ronna Cook
Westat
5912 Rossmore Drive
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-564-9228
Email: ronnacook@comcast.net; ronnacook@westat.com

Sarah Daily
Senior Policy Analyst
National Governors Association
Center for Best Practices
Education Division
444 North Capitol, Suite 267
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: 202-624-7857
Fax: 202-624-7825
Email: sdaily@nga.org

Rachel Demma
Senior Policy Analyst, Education Division
National Governor's Association
444 N. Capitol St., Suite 267
Washington, D.C. 20001-1512
Phone: 202-624-5300
Email: rdemma@nga.org

Susanne A. Denham
Department of Psychology MS 3F5
George Mason University
4400 University Drive
Fairfax VA 22030-4444
Phone: 703-993-1378
Email: sdenham@gmu.edu

Celene E. Domitrovich
Pennsylvania State University
108 South Henderson Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-865-2616
Email: cxd130@psu.edu

Jason Downer
Senior Scientist
Center for the Advanced Study of Teaching and Learning
University of Virginia
350 Old Ivy Way, Suite 100
Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone: 434-924-0792
Email: jdowner@virginia.edu

Eilene A. Edejer
Chicago Public Schools
Office of Early Childhood Education
125 South Clark, 9th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603
Phone: 773-553-2333
Email: eaedejer@cps.k12.il.us

Janet Fischel
Stony Brook University
University Medical Center L5,
Nicolls Road,
Stony Brook, NY 11794-7564
Phone: 631-444-8211
Email: Janet.Fischel@stonybrook.edu

Cheryl Fountain
Florida Institute of Education
University of North Florida
University Center
12000 Alumni Drive
Jacksonville, 32224
Phone: 904-620-2496
Email: fountain@unf.edu

Ellen Frede
Co-Director
National Institute for Early Education Research
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
120 Albany Street, Suite 500
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Phone: 732-932-4350
Fax: 732-932-4360
Email: efrede@nieer.org

Allison S. Fuligni
Associate Researcher
UCLA GSE&IS
BOX 951521, 8142A Math Sciences
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1521
Phone: 310-206-2417
Email: fuligni@gseis.ucla.edu

Walter S. Gilliam
Yale Child Study Center
230 South Frontage Road
PO Box 207900
New Haven, CT 06520-7900
Phone: 203-785-3384
Email: walter.gilliam@yale.edu

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Jacob H. Schiff Foundation Professor of Psychology and Education
Department of Human Development
542 Grace Dodge Hall
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 W. 120th Street
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 212-678-3443
Fax: 212-678-3837
Email: hpg4@columbia.edu

Barbara D. Goodson
Principal Scientist
Abt Associates Inc.
55 Wheeler St.
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: 617-349-2811
Fax: 617-349-2665
Email: barbara_goodson@abtassoc.com

David Grissmer
Principal Scientist
Center for the Advanced Study of Teaching and Learning
University of Virginia
350 Old Ivy Way, Suite 100
Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone: 434-243-8200
Email: grissmer@virginia.edu

Brenda Jones Harden
Associate Professor
Institute for Child Study
University of Maryland
3304 Benjamin Building
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301-405-2580
Fax: 301-405-2891
Email: bjharden@umd.edu

Renate M. Houts
Senior Research Statistician / Psychologist
Statistics & Epidemiology
RTI International
3040 Cornwallis Road
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
Phone: 919-316-3345
Fax: 919-541-6722

Marilou Hyson
NAEYC
1313 L St., NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202-365-4791
Email: mhyson@naeyc.org

Julia Isaacs
Brookings Institution
1775 Mass Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202-797-6466
Email: jisaacs@brookings.edu

Graciela Italiano-Thomas
Consultant
510 N Street, SW
Apt. N 623
Washington DC 20024
Phone: 202-550-4434
Email: Gift@gracielaitaliano.com

Stephanie M. Jones
Assistant Professor
Risk and Prevention Program
Harvard Graduate School of Education
Larsen 603, 14 Appian Way
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: 617-496-2223
Fax: 617-384-8177
Email: stephanie_m_jones@gse.harvard.edu

Sharon Lynn Kagan
Professor of Early Childhood and Family Policy
Teachers College, Columbia University
525 W. 125th Street, Box 226
New York, NY 10027-6696
Phone: 212-678-8255
Email: Sharon.kagan@columbia.edu

Elisa Klein
Department of Human Development
Institute for Child Study
3304 Benjamin Building (#143)
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
Department Phone: 301-405-2827
Department Fax: 301-405-2891
Email: elklein@umd.edu

Lisa Knoche
Research Assistant Professor and Project Director, Getting Ready Project
Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
238 Teachers College Hall
Lincoln, NE 68588-0345
Phone: 402-472-4821
Fax: 402-472-8777
Email: lknoche2@unl.edu

Janis Kupersmidt
Innovation Research and Training
1415 W. NC Highway 54
Suite 121
Durham, NC 27707
Phone: 919-493-7700
Email: jkupersmidt@irtinc.us

Carolyn Layzer
Abt Associates Inc.
55 Wheeler Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: 617-520-3597
Fax: 617-386-8500
Email: carolyn_layzer@abtassoc.com

Jean I. Layzer
Belmont Research Associates
42 Fairmont St.
Belmont, MA 02478
Phone: 617-484-8189
Email: jeanlayzer1@mac.com

Deborah J. Leong
The Metropolitan State College of Denver
26093 Thea Gulch
Golden, CO 80403
Phone: 303-279-5589
Email: leongd@mscd.edu

Joan Lombardi
Georgetown University
37th and O streets, NW
Washington, DC 20057
Phone: 202-687-0100
Email: lombardij@aol.com

Michael L. LУГpez
Executive Director
National Center for Latino Child & Family Research
22610 Woodfield Road
Laytonsville, MD 20882
Phone: 301-537-6552
Email: milopez@earthlink.net

John M. Love
Mathematica Policy Research
1016 Canyon Park Drive
Ashland, OR 97520
Phone: 541-488-6987
Fax: 609-799-0005
Email: jlove@mathematica-mpr.com

Kelly L. Maxwell
FPG Child Development Institute
UNC-CH, CB # 8180
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8180
Phone: 919-966-9865
Email: maxwell@unc.edu

Pamela Morris
Director, Family Well-Being and Child Development Policy Area
MDRC
19th Floor
16 East 34 Street
New York, NY 10016-4326
Phone: 212-532-3200
Fax: 212-684-0832

Susan B. Neuman
Professor, University of Michigan School of Education
3119 School of Education
610 E. University Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1259
Phone: 734-615-4655
Email: sbneuman@umich.edu

Samuel L. Odom
Director, FPG Child Development Institute
University of North Carolina
CB-8180, 105 Smith Level Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8180
Phone: 919-966-4250
Fax: 919-966-7532
Email: slodom@unc.edu

Dan Pederson
President
Buffett Early Childhood Fund
3555 Farnam
Omaha, NE 68131
Email: dp@buffettearly.org

Robert C. Pianta
Dean, Curry School of Education
University of Virginia
405 Emmet St. South
Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone: 434-924-3332
Email: pianta@virginia.edu

Helen Holz Raikes
Professor
Child, Youth and Family Studies
257 Mabel Lee Hall
Lincoln, NE
68588-0236
Phone: 402-472-9147
Email: hraikes2@unl.edu

Craig T. Ramey
Georgetown University Distinguished Professor of Health Studies
Director, Georgetown University Center on Health and Education
Box 571107, 3700 Reservoir Road, NW
Washington, DC 20057-1107
Phone: 202-687-8818 or 202-687-2874
Fax: 202-784-3129
Email: ctr5@georgetown.edu

Sharon Landesman Ramey
Georgetown University Center on Health and Education
3700 Reservoir Rd, NW
Washington, DC 20057
Phone: 202-687-2874 or 301-656-6612
Email: sr222@georgetown.edu

Melissa Raspa
RTI International
3040 Cornwallis Road
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
Phone: 1-866-860-5229
Email: mraspa@rti.org

C. Cybele Raver
Director, Institute of Human Development and Social Change
Associate Professor, Department of Applied Psychology
Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development
New York University
239 Greene Street, Suite 400
New York, NY 10003
Phone: 212-998-5519
Email: cybele.raver@nyu.edu

Christine Ross
Senior Researcher
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
600 Alexander Park
Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone: 609-750-3184
Email: cross@mathematica-mpr.com

Beth Rous
University of Kentucky
126 Mineral Industries Bldg.
Lexington, KY 40506-0051
Phone: 859-257-9115
Email: brous@uky.edu

Thomas Schultz
Director of Early Childhood
Council of Chief State School Officers
One Massachusetts Avenue, NW Suite 700
Washington, DC 20001-1431
Phone: 202-312-6432
Email: thomass@ccsso.org

Larry Schweinhart
High Scope Educational Research Foundation
600 North River Street
Ypsilanti, MI 48198-2898
Phone: 734-485-2000 ext. 256
Email: lschweinhart@highscope.org

Susan M. Sheridan
Nebraska Center for Research on CYFS
216 Mabel Lee Hall
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68588-0235
Phone: 402-472-6941
Email: ssheridan2@unl.edu

Emily Snell
MDRC
16 East 34th Street, 19th Floor
New York, NY 10016
Email: Emily.snell@mdrc.org

Kyle Snow
RTI, International
6110 Executive Boulevard, Suite 902
Rockville, Maryland 20852-3907
Phone: 301-816-4605
Fax: 301-230-4647
Email: ksnow@rti.org

Helene Stebbins
HMS Policy Research
4617 S. 8th Road
Arlington, VA 22204
Phone: 703-769-2772
Email: helene.stebbins@verizon.net

Jennifer Stedron
National Conference of State Legislatures
7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Phone: 303-856-1427
Email: Jennifer.stedron@ncls.org

Mark Steinmeyer
Senior Program Officer
Smith Richardson Foundation
60 Jesup Road
Westport, CT 06880
Phone: 203-222-6222
Email: Msteinmeyer@srf.org

Louisa B. Tarullo
Associate Director of Research and Area Leader, Early Childhood
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
600 Maryland Ave. SW, Suite 550
Washington, D.C. 20024-2512
Phone: 202-264-3479
Fax: 202-863-1763
Email: ltarullo@mathematica-mpr.com

Kathy R. Thornburg
Director, Center for Family Policy & Research
1400 Rock Quarry Rd.
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: 573-882-9998
Fax: 573-884-0598
Email: thornburgk@missouri.edu

Kathryn Tout
Child Trends
615 First Ave N.E., Suite 225
Minneapolis, MN 55413
Phone: 612-692-5518
Email: ktout@childtrends.org

Elaine R. Weiss
Senior Associate
Partnership for America's Economic Success
The Pew Charitable Trusts
1025 F St., NW, Suite 900
Washington, DC 20004-1409
Phone: 202-552-2052
Fax: 202-552-2299
Email: eweiss@pewtrusts.org

Jerry West
Senior Fellow
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
600 Maryland Avenue, SW, Suite 550
Washington, DC 20024-2512
Phone: 202-484-4516
Fax: 202-863-1763
Email: jwest@mathematica-mpr.com

Martha Zaslow
Child Trends
4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 350
Washington, DC 20008
Phone: 202-572-6032
Email: mzaslow@childtrends.org

Edward Zigler
Sterling Professor of Psychology, Emeritus
Director, Emeritus, The Edward Zigler Center in Child Development and Social Policy
310 Prospect Street, Suite 215
New Haven, CT 06511-2187
Phone: 203-432-4576
Fax: 203-432-7147
Email: edward.zigler@yale.edu

Federal Staff

Anne F. Bergan
Social Science Research Analyst
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
Administration for Children and Families
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-260-8515
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: abergan@acf.hhs.gov

Barbara Broman
Deputy to the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Human Services Policy
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Email: barbara.broman@hhs.gov

Beth Caron
Education Program Specialist
US Department of Education
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
400 Maryland Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20202-2550
Phone: 202.245.7293
Fax: 202.245.7617
Email: beth.caron@ed.gov

Reeba Daniel
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-205-8666
Email: reeba.daniel@ed.gov

Kathleen Dwyer
Administration for Children and Families
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
7th Floor West
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-401-5600
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: kathleen.dwyer@acf.hhs.gov

Caroline Ebanks
National Center for Education Research
Institute of Education Sciences
U.S. Department of Education
555 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Room 610D
Washington, DC 20208
Phone: 202-219-1410
Email: Caroline.Ebanks@ed.gov

James A. Griffin
Deputy Chief, Child Development & Behavior Branch
Center for Research for Mothers and Children
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6100 Executive Blvd., Suite 4B05
Rockville, MD 20852-7510
Phone: 301-435-2307
Fax: 301-480-0230
Email: James.Griffin@nih.gov

Laura R. Hoard
Social Science Research Analyst
Division of Child and Family Development
Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation
Administration for Children and Families
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-401-4561
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: laura.hoard@acf.hhs.gov

Jamie Holcomb
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-690-8505
Email: jamie.holcomb@hhs.gov

Amy Madigan
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-690-6652
Email: amy.madigan@hhs.gov

Nancy Geyelin Margie
Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation
Administration on Children and Families
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W.
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-401-5522
Email: Nancy.Margie@acf.hhs.gov

Ivelisse Martinez-Beck
Child Care Research Coordinator
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
Administration for Children and Families
370 L'Enfant Plaza Promenade, SW
7th Floor West
Washington, D.C. 20447
Phone: 202-690-7885
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: ivelisse.martinezbeck@acf.hhs.gov

Martha Moorehouse
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
Phone: 202-690-6939
Email: martha.moorehouse@hhs.gov

Melissa Pardue
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Human Services Policy
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201

Ann C. Rivera
Society for Research in Child Development/AAAS Fellow (2008-2009)
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
Administration for Children and Families
Aerospace Building 7W
370 L'Enfant Promenade
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-401-5506
Email: Ann.Rivera@acf.hhs.gov

Lauren Supplee
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
Administration for Children and Families
370 L'Enfant Promenade SW, 7th Fl West
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-401-5434
Email: lauren.supplee@acf.hhs.gov

Mary Bruce Webb
Director, Division of Child and Family Development
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
Administration for Children and Families
370 L'Enfant Promenade SW
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-205-8628
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: mbwebb@acf.hhs.gov

T'Pring Westbrook
Research Fellow
Administration for Children and FAmilies
Office of Planing, Research and Evaluation
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
7th Floor, West
Washington, DC 20447

Maria Woolverton
Administration for Children and Families
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
7th Floor, West
Washington, DC 20447
Phone: 202-205-4039
Email: maria.woolverton@acf.hhs.gov

Joseph Zogby
Room 18A-39 Parklawn
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Phone: 301-443-4393
Email: jzogby@hrsa.gov

Abt Associates

Alyssa Rulf Fountain
Social and Economic Policy Division
Abt Associates Inc.
55 Wheeler Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: 617-520-2657
Fax: 617-386-7608
Email: alyssa_rulf_fountain@abtassoc.com

Anne Wolf
Social and Economic Policy Division
Abt Associates Inc.
4550 Montgomery Avenue
Suite 800 North
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: 301-634-1738
Phone: 301-828-9683
Email: anne_wolf@abtassoc.com

Hestia Advising

Lisa Klein
Hestia Advising
PO Box 6756
Leawood, KS 66206
Phone: 913-642-3490
Email: lklein@hestiaadvising.com

National Center for Children in Poverty

Jane Knitzer
The National Center for Children in Poverty
Mailman Schools of Public Health
Columbia University
215 W. 125th St., 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 646-284-9615
Email: knitzer@nccp.org

Lee Kreader
The National Center for Children in Poverty
Mailman Schools of Public Health
Columbia University
215 W. 125th St., 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 646-284-9625
Email: kreader@nccp.org

Jessica Vick
The National Center for Children in Poverty
Mailman Schools of Public Health
Columbia University
215 W. 125th St., 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10027
Phone: 646-284-9602
Email: vick@nccp.org

View full report

Preview
Download

"index.pdf" (pdf, 307.32Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®

View full report

Preview
Download

"apa.pdf" (pdf, 78.45Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®

View full report

Preview
Download

"apb.pdf" (pdf, 401.85Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®

View full report

Preview
Download

"apc.pdf" (pdf, 288.78Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®

View full report

Preview
Download

"apd.pdf" (pdf, 90.04Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®

View full report

Preview
Download

"ape.pdf" (pdf, 190.7Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®

View full report

Preview
Download

"apf.pdf" (pdf, 68.04Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®