National Study of Child Protective Services Systems and Reform Efforts: Site Visits Report . Organization of the CPS Agency


Wisconsin is a county-administered, State-supervised system. The LCHSD is responsible for CPS in La Crosse County. The LCHSD has five sections — Operations, Long-Term Support, Economic Support, Clinical Services, and Family and Children's Services. The Family and Children's Services unit has primary responsibility for providing CPS, juvenile services, and services for children with disabilities.

The three CPS units each include one supervisor, intake staff, investigators, and case management workers. The supervisors rotate responsibility for intake each day and supervise investigative and case management workers. Supervisors attempt to keep the cases within the same unit from investigation to case management; however, this is not always possible.

One of the three CPS supervisors also manages the Integrated Services Unit. The Integrated Services Unit serves emotionally disturbed children at risk of being removed from their homes with a goal of assisting parents in maintaining the child at home. These cases may be under court order as a result of an abuse or neglect referral or may be voluntary. During 2001, 25 families were enrolled in the program; during 2002, children from 23 of these families were still living at home.

Exhibit 6.1, Child Abuse and Neglect (CAN) Referral, illustrates the movement of a case though the CPS System. Child neglect presented 45 percent of all calls during 2000 and 2001, or more than 400 reports each year.

Exhibit 6.1
Child Abuse and Neglect [CAN] Referral

Exhibit 6.1 Child Abuse and Neglect [CAN] Referral.

View full report


"64561.pdf" (pdf, 1.64Mb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®