Impacts of Four Title V, Section 510 Abstinence Education Programs. Acknowledgments

Many individuals contributed in important ways to this report. First, we thank Rebecca Maynard, former project director and co-principal investigator, whose hard work, creative thinking, and strong leadership during the evaluations first several years made this study and report possible. We also thank Amy Johnson, who provided critical support throughout this study in numerous capacities, including her role as Deputy Project Director and Survey Director.

We also thank the Title V, Section 510 Abstinence Education Program grantees who have generously allowed us to visit their programs, meet with staff, and observe their operations. Among these grantees, we are especially grateful to those who created and/or are directing the programs that are the focus of the study: Jacqueline Del Rosario with ReCapturing the Vision in Miami, Florida; Vicki Hearns Moses with Teens in Control in Clarksdale, Mississippi; Gale Grant, Ginelle Ampy, and Kathy Douglas with My Choice, My Future! in Powhatan, Virginia; and Dawn Groshek, Marty Kerrigan, Rosemary Fisher, and Lyn Hildenbrand with Families United to Prevent Teen Pregnancy in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. We also would like to thank the many school district staff in these communities who have supported the evaluation.

We have consistently received outstanding guidance and support from members of the projects technical workgroup. Current members include Marilyn Benoit, Sarah Brown, Ron Haskins, Jim Jaccard, Joe McIlhaney, Robert Michael, Kristin Moore, Susan Philliber, Robert Rector, David Rowberry, Freya Sonenstein, John Vessey, and Brian Wilcox. Many members of the research and policy community  especially Christine Bachrach, Cassie Bevan, Nancye Campbell, Stan Koutstaal, Susan Newcomer, David Siegel, Shepherd Smith, Matthew Stagner, Amy Stephens, and Pat Funderburk Ware  have been generous in answering questions and offering advice. Gary Burtless, Judy Gueron, Rob Hollister, and David Myers provided an extremely valuable review of the study design.

Carolyn Miller, John Homrighausen, Anne Self, Linda Mendenko, Jason Markesich, Milena Rosenblum, and Linda Bandeh shared various responsibilities for the design and oversight of the survey and school records data collection. Peter Schochet and Alan Hershey provided many useful comments on drafts of the documents. William Garrett expertly produced this report.

We are deeply grateful for the longstanding support of the staff at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services who oversee this project, especially to Meredith Kelsey, the project officer for this study, Martha Moorehouse, Barbara Broman, Lisa Trivits, and Nicole Gardner-Neblett. They have accompanied us on site visits, worked with us to stay abreast of and respond quickly to emerging issues and concerns related to the study, and provided consistent support and guidance for the project.

Although we gratefully acknowledge the input of these and many other individuals, we alone are responsible for any errors or omissions in the report. Any opinions expressed in this report are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or others.

Christopher Trenholm, Project Director (
Barbara Devaney, Co-Investigator (

View full report


"report.pdf" (pdf, 626.39Kb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®