The Evaluation of Abstinence Education Programs Funded Under Title V Section 510: Interim Report . Acknowledgements


Many people contributed in important ways to this report. First and foremost, we thank the many abstinence education program grantees who have generously allowed us to visit their programs, meet with staff, and observe their operations. We are especially grateful to those who created and/or are directing the 11 programs that are the focus of the study: Jacqueline Del Rosario with ReCapturing the Vision in Miami, Florida; Vicki Hearns with Teens in Control in Clarksdale, Mississippi; Anne Badgley and Susan Swanson with Heritage Community Services in South Carolina; Gale Grant, Ginelle Ampy-Thornhill, and Kathy Douglas with My Choice, My Future! in Powhatan, Virginia; Marty Kerrigan, Rosemary Fisher, and Lyn Hildenbrand with Families United to Prevent Teen Pregnancy in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Ruth Ann Eccles with the Abstinence Education Initiative (AEI) Coalition of Equipping Youth in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Marilyn Ammon with McClennan County Collaborative Abstinence Project in McClennan County, Texas; Sherrie Ahlstrom with the Youth Abstinence Education Program in Tooele, Utah; Lori Kuykendall with Fort Bend Abstinence Leadership and Resources for Teens in Fort Bend, Texas; and Andy Doniger with the Not Me Not Now program from the Monroe County Health Department, Rochester, New York. We also would like to thank the many school district staff in these communities who have supported the evaluation.

We have consistently received outstanding guidance and support from members of the project's technical workgroup, most of whom have been with us continuously from the start of the project: Marilyn Benoit, Sarah Brown, Jim Jaccard, David Larson (1998-2000), Joe McIlhaney, Robert Michael, Kristin Moore, Susan Philliber, Robert Rector, David Rowberry, Freya Sonenstein, Marta Tienda (1998-2000), John Vessey, Stan Weed (1998-2000) and Brian Wilcox. Many members of the research and policy community — especially Christine Bachrach, Leanna Benn, Cassie Bevan, Peter Brandt, Ron Haskins, Michele Lawler, Onalee McGraw, Susan Newcomer, Karen Thiel Raykovich, Lisa Rue, Shepherd Smith, Matthew Stagner, Amy Stephens, Kathleen Sullivan, Leslee Unruh, Peter van Dyck, and Pat Funderburk Ware — have been extremely generous in answering questions and offering advice. Gary Burtless, Judy Gueron, Rob Hollister, and David Myers provided an extremely valuable review of the study design.

John Homrighausen, Anne Self, Linda Mendenko, Jason Markesich, and Linda Bandeh shared various responsibilities for the design and oversight of the survey and school records data collection. Jean Knab and Licia Gaber provided database management and programming support for the project. Walt Brower provided editorial support for the report, which was produced by Jennifer Chiaramonti and Monica Capizzi.

Finally, we are deeply grateful for the support of staff at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services who oversee this project, especially to Meredith Kelsey, the project officer for this study, and Barbara Broman. They have accompanied us on site visits, worked with us to stay abreast of and respond quickly to emerging issues and concerns related to the study, and provided consistent support and guidance for the project.

Although we gratefully acknowledge the inputs of these people and many others, we alone are responsible for any errors or omissions in the report. Any opinions expressed in this report are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or of others.