The Economic Rationale for Investing in Children: A Focus on Child Care. Participant List

12/01/2001

Barbara R. Bergmann
Distinguished Professor Emerita of Economics
American University
5430 41 Place, NW Washington, DC 20015
Tel: 202-537-3036
Fax: 202-686-3456
Email: bbergman@wam.umd.edu

Jacqueline E. Bhola
Economist/Women's Bureau
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20210
Tel: 202-693-6749
Fax: 202-693-6746
Email: bhola-jacqueline@dol.gov

Heather Biggar
Research Triangle Institute
6110 Executive Boulevard, Suite 420
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 301-230-4650
Fax: 301-230-4646
Email: biggar@rti.org

Marianne Bitler
Economist
Federal Reserve Board
20th & C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20551
Tel: 202-452-2504
Fax: 202-728-5838
Email: mbitler@frb.gov

Lynne M. Casper
Health Scientist Administrator and Demographer
Demographic and Behavior Sciences Branch
National Institutes of Health
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Center for Population Research
6100 Executive Boulevard, Room 8B07
Bethesda, MD 20892-7510
Tel: 301-496-1174
Fax: 301-496-0962
Email: casperl@mail.nih.gov

Laura Chadwick
Economist
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 404E
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-7881
Fax: 202-690-6562
Email: lchadwic@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Janet Currie
1560 Roscomare Road
Los Angeles, CA 90077
Tel: 310-206-8380
Fax: 310-825-9528
Email: currie@simba.sscnet.ucla.edu

Jeff Evans
Director of Intergenerational Research
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6100 Executive Boulevard, Room 8B07
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-496-1176
Fax: 301-496-0962
Email: Jeff_evans@nih.gov

William Gormley
Professor, Government and Public Policy
Georgetown University
Public Policy Institute
3600 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007
Tel: 202-687-6817
Fax: 202-687-5544
Email: gormleyw@gunet.georgetown.edu

Shari Gruber
Senior Policy Analyst
American Public Human Services Association
810 First Street, NE, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20002
Tel: 202-682-0100, ext. 241
Fax: 202-289-6555
Email: sgruber@aphsa.org

Janet S. Hansen
Vice President and Director of Education Studies
Committee for Economic Development
2000 L Street, NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-296-5860
Fax: 202-223-0776
Email: Janet.Hansen@ced.org

Suzanne W. Helburn
Professor Emerita of Economics
University of Colorado, Denver
3743 Nelson Road
Longmont, CO 80503
Tel: 303-443-2408
Fax: 303-443-2195
Email: snhelburn@earthlink.net

Karen E. Heying
Head Start Fellow
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
Child Care Bureau
330 C Street, SW
Room 2329, Switzer Building
Washington, DC 20047
Tel: 202-205-8713
Fax: 202-690-5600
Email: kheying@acf.dhhs.gov

Lynn Karoly
Senior Economist
Director, Labor and Population Program
RAND
1200 South Hayes Street
Arlington, VA 22202
Tel: 703-413-1100, ext. 5359
Fax: 703-413-8111
Email: Karoly@rand.org

Jamie Kendall
Policy Analyst
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
901 D Street, SW, Suite 700 West
Washington, DC 20447
Tel: 202-401-5600
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: jkendall@acf.dhhs.gov

Genevieve Kenney
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
Tel: 202-833-7200
Email: jkenney@ui.urban.org

Lisa Klein
Senior Program Officer
Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation
4801 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, MO 64110
Tel: 816-932-1056
Fax: 816-932-1450
Email: lklein@emkf.org

Joan Lombardi
Director
The Children's Project
1941 Shiver Drive
Alexandria, VA 22307
Tel: 703-660-6711
Fax: 703-660-8924
Email: lombardij@aol.com

Matthew McKearn
Office of Management and Budget
725 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20503
Tel: 202-395-7760
Fax: 202-395-0851
Email: Matthew_McKearn@omb.eop.gov

Matthew E. Melmed
Executive Director
ZERO TO THREE: National Center for
Infants, Toddlers and Families
2000 M Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-638-1144
Fax: 202-638-0851
Email: 0to3@zerotothree.org

Laurie Miller
Senior Program Associate
Child Care Division
Children's Defense Fund
25 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: 202-662-3670
Fax: 202-662-3560
Email: lmiller@childrensdefense.org

Martha Moorehouse
Social Science Analyst
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 450G
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-6939
Fax: 202-690-5514
Email: mmooreho@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Don Oellerich
Deputy Chief Economist
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 404E
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-6805
Fax: 202-690-6562
Email: doelleri@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Rachel Schumacher
Policy Analyst
Center for Law and Social Policy
1616 P Street, NW, Suite 150
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-328-5164
Fax: 202-328-5195
Email: rschumacher@clasp.org

Ann Segal
Senior Program Manager
Children, Families, and Communities
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation
3 Bethesda Metro Center, Suite 700
Bethesda, MD 20814
Tel: 301-664-8424
Fax: 301-664-8427
Email: a.segal@packfound.org

Kristin Smith
Family Demographer
U.S. Census Bureau
4700 Silver Hill Road
Population Division, Room 2351
Building 3
Suitland, MD 20746
Tel: 301-457-2416
Fax: 301-457-2481
Email: Kristin.E.Smith@census.gov

Linda Smith
644 Dirksen
Washington, DC 20510
Tel: 202-224-8750
Email: linda_smith@labor.senate.gov

Shannon Smith
Welfare Reform and Beyond
Research Assistant
The Brookings Institution
1775 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-797-6272
Fax: 202-797-2478
Email: ssmith@brook.edu

Karen Tvedt
Director, Policy Division
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
Child Care Bureau
330 C Street, SW, Room 2323
Washington, DC 20447
Tel: 202-401-5130
Fax: 202-690-5600
Email: ktvedt@acf.dhhs.gov

Jacques van der Gaag
Dean, Department of Economics
University of Amsterdam
Roetersstraat 11
1018 WB Amsterdam, Holland
Tel: +31 20 525 4138
Fax: +31 20 525 4174
Email: vdgaag@fee.uva.nl

Deborah Vandell
Professor of Educational Psychology
University of Wisconsin-Madison
467 Educational Science Building
1025 W. Johnson Street
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608-263-1902
Email: dvandell@facstaff.wisc.edu

Bobbie Weber
Director, Family Resources and Education
Linn-Benton Community College
6500 SW Pacific Boulevard
Albany, OR 97330
Tel: 541-752-9015
Fax: 541-967-0559
Email: bobbieweber@qwest.net

Ann Dryden Witte
Professor of Economics
Wellesley College
155 Ocean Lane Dr, #812
Miami, Fl 33149
Tel:305-365-0834
Fax:305-365-0896
Email:awitte@wellesley.edu

Barbara Broman
Deputy to the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Human Services Policy
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 404E
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-8410
Fax: 202-690-6562
Email: bbroman@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Natasha Cabrera
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6100 Executive Boulevard, Room 8B07
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-435-6982
Fax: 301-496-6982
Email: nc64e@nih.gov

Jeffrey Capizzano
Research Associate
The Urban Institute
2100 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
Tel: 202-261-5270
Fax: 202-452-1840
Email: jcapizza@ui.urban.org

Thomas Gabe
Specialist, Social Legislation
Congressional Research Service
Library of Congress, Room LM323
101 Independence Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20540-7440
Tel: 202-707-7357
Fax: 202-252-3167
Email: tgabe@crs.loc.gov

Lisa Gennetian
Senior Research Associate
Manpower Demonstration Research Corporation
16 East 34th Street
New York, NY 10016
Tel: 212-340-8856
Fax: 212-684-0832
Email: lisa_gennetain@mdrc.org

Linda Ghelfi
Economist/Economic Research Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
1800 M Street, NW, Room 20815
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: 202-694-5437
Fax: 202-694-5642
Email: lghelfi@ers.usda.gov

Melinda Gish
Analyst in Social Legislation
Congressional Research Service
Library of Congress
101 Independence Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20540-7440
Tel: 202-707-4618
Fax: 202-252-3176
Email: mgish@crs.loc.gov

Anne Goldstein
Executive Director
USA Child Care
243 Church Street, NW, 2nd Floor
Vienna, VA 22180
Tel: 703-938-5531
Fax: 703-255-6859
Email: anne@usachildcare.org

Robinson G. Hollister
Department of Economics
Swarthmore College
500 College Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19081
Tel: 610-328-8105
Email: rhollis1@swarthmore.edu

V. Joseph Hotz
Department of Economics
University of California at Los Angeles
8283 Bunche Hall
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1477
Tel: 310-794-6617
Fax: 310-825-9528
Email: hotz@ucla.edu

Ruth Hubbell McKey
Vice President, Research and
Program Services
Ellsworth Associates, Inc.
1749 Old Meadow Road, Suite 600
McLean, VA 22102
Tel: 703-821-3090, ext. 237
Fax: 703-821-3989
Email: rhmckey@eainet.com

Aletha C. Huston
Professor, Child Development
University of Texas at Austin
Department of Human Ecology
GEA 115
Austin, TX 78712-1097
Tel: 512-471-0753
Fax: 512-471-5844
Email: achuston@mail.utexas.edu

Julie Isaacs
Director of Data and Tech Analysis
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 404E
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-7882
Fax: 202-690-6562
Email: jisaacs@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Michael L. Lopez
Director, Commissioner's Office of Research and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration on Children, Youth and Families
330 C Street, SW, Room 2128
Washington, DC 20447
Tel: 202-205-8212
Fax: 202-205-9721
Email: Milopez@acf.dhhs.gov

John M. Love
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
PO Box 2393
Princeton, NJ 08543-2393
Tel: 609-275-2245
Fax: 609-799-0005
Email: jlove@mathematica-mpr.com

Margo Malakoff
APA/AAAS Science Policy Fellow
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6100 Executive Boulevard, Room 4A05
MSC 7510
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-435-6855
Fax: 301-480-2400
Email: malakofm@mail.nih.gov

Ivelisse Martinez-Beck
Policy Fellow
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
Child Care Bureau
330 C Street, SW
Room 2046, Switzer Building
Washington, DC 20447
Tel: 202-690-7885
Fax: 202-690-5600
Email: imartinezbeck@acf.dhhs.gov

Rebecca Maynard
University Trustee Professor
University of Pennsylvania
237 Wallace Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544
Tel: 609-258-5507
Fax: 609-799-0005
Email: rmaynard@gse.upenn.edu

Leila Rice
Program Analyst
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 450G
Washington, DC 20201
Tel: 202-690-8505
Fax: 202-690-5514
Email: lrice@osaspe.dhhs.gov

Steven G. Rivkin
1817 Hopkins Street
Berkeley, CA 94707
Tel: 510-527-2654
Email: sgrivkin@amherst.edu

Howard Rolston
Director, Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW, Suite 706
Washington, DC 20447
Tel: 202-401-9220
Fax: 202-205-3598
Email: hrolston@acf.dhhs.gov

Christine Ross
Senior Economist
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
600 Maryland Ave, SW, Suite 550
Washington, DC 20024
Tel: 202-484-4235
Fax: 202-863-1763
Email: cross@mathematica-mpr.com

Shannon Rudisill
Director, Technical Assistance
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
Child Care Bureau
330 C Street, SW
Room 2046 Switzer Building
Washington, DC 20447
Tel: 202-205-8051
Fax: 202-690-5600
Email: srudisill@acf.dhhs.gov

Helene Stebbins
Program Director
National Governors Association
444 North Capitol Street
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: 202-624-5378
Fax: 202-624-5313
Email: hstebbins@nga.org

Louise Stoney
Technical Assistance Specialist
National Child Care Information Center and Alliance on Early Childhood Finance
308 Thais Road
Averill Park, NY 12018
Tel: 518-674-5635
Fax: 518-674-2799
Email: Lstoney95@aol.com

Louisa Tarullo
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Administration on Children, Youth and Families
Commissioner's Office of Research and Evaluation
330 C Street, SW, Room 2130
Washington, DC 20201
Tel:(202) 205-8324
Fax:(202) 205-9721
Email: lbtarullo@acf.dhhs.gov

Fasaha M. Traylor
Senior Program Officer
Foundation for Child Development
145 E 32nd Street
New York, NY 10016
Tel: 212-213-8337
Fax: 212-213-5897
Email: fasaha@ffcd.org

Valerie Tully
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Office of the Secretary
200 Independence Ave. S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20201
Tel: 202-401-5920
Email:

Barbara Wolfe
Professor of Economics, Public Affairs, and Preventive Medicine
University of Wisconsin-Madison
7422 Social Science
1180 Observatory Drive
Madison, WI 53706
Tel: 608-262-0030
Email: wolfe@lafollette.wisc.edu

Marie Young
Senior Program Manager/Promote Child and Youth Development
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation
300 Second Street, Suite 200
Los Altos, CA 94002
Tel: 650-917-5292
Fax: 650-941-2273

Mary Eming Young
Child Development Knowledge Coordinator
The World Bank
1818 H Street, NW, MNSG8800
Washington, DC 20433
Tel: 202-473-3427
Fax: 202-522-3233
Email: Myoung3@worldbank.org

Martha Zaslow
Child Trends
4301 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 100
Washington, DC 20008
Tel: 202-362-5580
Fax: 202-362-5533
Email: mzaslow@childtrends.org

Staff:

Ellen Kisker
Senior Researcher
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
7639 Crestview Drive
Longmont, Colorado 80504
Tel:303-652-8929
Fax:609-799-0005
Email: ekisker@mathematica-mpr.com

Jennifer Maahs
Research Associate
Ellsworth Associates, Inc.
1749 Old Meadow Road, Suite 600
McLean, VA 22102
Tel:703-821-3090, ext. 282
Fax:703-821-3989
Email: jmaahs@eainet.com

Diane Paulsell
Researcher
Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
PO Box 2393
Princeton, New Jersey 08543-2393
Tel:609-275-2297
Fax:609-799-0005
Email: dpaulsell@mathematica-mpr.com

Valerie Sayd
Research Associate
Ellsworth Associates, Inc.
1749 Old Meadow Road, Suite 600
McLean, VA 22102
Tel:703-821-3090, ext. 247
Fax:703-356-0472
Email: vsayd@eainet.com

Carolyn Swaney
Meeting Planner
Ellsworth Associates, Inc.
1749 Old Meadow Road, Suite 600
McLean, VA 22102
Tel:703-821-3090, ext. 265
Fax:703-821-3989
Email: cswaney@eainet.com