Diabetes: A National Plan for Action. Acknowledgements


The Diabetes: A National Plan for Action is the result of the dedication and determination of many groups and individuals. The Department would like to thank all those who participated in creating this document.

Special thanks to the American Diabetes Association, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International, the American Association of Diabetes Educators, and the American Dietetic Association for their participation at the town hall meetings.

The Department would like to thank the following individuals for their participation on the expert panels at the town hall meetings: The Honorable Jennette Bradley, Lieutenant Governor and Director of Commerce for Ohio; J. Nick Baird, MD, Director, Ohio Department of Health; James Holsinger, PhD, Secretary of the Cabinet for Health Services, Kentucky; Steve Collier, Superintendent, Norwood City Schools; Jerry Mallicoat, Vice President of Midwest Marketing, Anthem Blue Cross/Blue Shield; Francine Kaufman, MD, Past President, American Diabetes Association; Nicole Johnson, Miss America 1999; The Honorable Mike Huckabee, Governor of Arkansas; Fay Boozman, MD, MPH, Director, Arkansas Department of Health; Virginia Zamudio, RN, MSN, CDE, Past President, American Association of Diabetes Educators; Victor H. Gonzalez, MD, National Board Member, American Diabetes Association; Simmie Armstrong, Jr., MD, Pine Bluff Family Medical Center, Arkansas; The Honorable George R. Nethercutt, Jr., JD, U.S. House of Representatives, Chairman of the Congressional Diabetes Caucus; Mary Selecky, Secretary, Washington Department of Health; Steven Kahn, MB, ChB, Director of Research and Development, VA Puget Sound Health Care System; Gerald Nepom, MD, PhD, Director, Benaroya Research Institute at Virginia Mason, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International; Joe Finkbonner, R.Ph, MHA, Director of the Epidemiology Center, Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board; Bradley J. Enegren, Vice President and General Manager, Research and Development, Medtronic, Inc.; Angela Bartels, RN, BSN, Diabetes Coordinator, 45th Street Medical Clinic, Seattle, Washington.

The Department would also like to thank all of the agencies and offices of HHS for their contributions, especially: the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, the Office of the Surgeon General, the Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, the Office of Minority Health, National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Administration on Aging.

In addition, the Department would like to thank the Internal Advisory Committee: Kevin Keane, Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs; Howard Zucker, MD, JD, LLM, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of Public Health and Science; Garth Graham, MD, MPH, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Minority Health, Office of Minority Health; Nathan Stinson, Jr., PhD, MD, MPH, formerly the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Minority Health, Office of Minority Health; Carolyn Clancy, MD, Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; John Wren, Director for Planning and Policy Development, Administration on Aging; Frank Vinicor, MD, Director, Division of Diabetes Translation, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Sean Tunis, MD, Chief Medical Officer/Director, Office of Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services; Lester Crawford, DVM, PhD, Deputy Commissioner of Food and Drugs, Food and Drug Administration; Sam Shekar, MD, MPH, Associate Administrator, Bureau of Primary Health Care, Health Resources and Services Administration; Craig Vanderwagen, MD, Acting Chief Medical Officer, Indian Health Service; and Allen Spiegel, MD, Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health.

The Department extends additional thanks to Mary Mazanec, MD, JD, Wilma Tilson, MPH, and Ann Albright, PhD, RD, for their hard work in developing this document and acknowledges the work of the Research Triangle Institute International in this endeavor.

Michael O’Grady, PhD
Assistant Secretary of Planning and Evaluation

View full report


"NDAP04.pdf" (pdf, 1.47Mb)

Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®