A child under 15 years of age cannot consent to sexual acts in cases where the other person is 4 or more years older than the victim. Individuals who are at least 15 years of age but less than 17 years of age can only consent to sexual acts if the other person is less than 10 years older than the victim.  Definition of Offenses
An individual less than 18 years of age is unable to consent to sexual intercourse unless he or she is married to the defendant.  Definition of Offenses
Individuals under 14 years of age cannot consent to sexual activities, with the following exception: If the victim is at least 12 years of age and less than 14 years of age and the defendant is no more than 3 years older than the victim  If the victim is less than 12 years of age and the defendant is no more than 3 years older than the v
1. Inclusion of statutory rape in reporting requirements Alaska statutes require mandated reporters to report all instances where they suspect that a child has suffered harm as the result of child abuse.  The definition of child abuse includes specific reference to sexual abuse, and it does not include any provisions that indicate that it
Children under 16 years of age are unable to consent to sexual activity,  with the following exceptions: If the defendant and victim are married to one another  If the victim is at least 13 years of age and the defendant is less than 3 years older than the victim  If the victim is less than 13 years of age and the defendant i
1. Inclusion of statutory rape in reporting requirements Alabama statutes require mandated reporters to report all instances where they suspect a child to be a victim of child abuse.  The statutes define child abuse to include harm caused through sexual abuse, including rape. The definition of sexual abuse does not include any provisions
An individual is deemed incapable of consent if he or she is less than 16 years of age,  with the following exceptions:
Many laboratorians interviewed suggested that the future of the commercial reference laboratory industry centered on the development of sophisticated informatics products that will be able to integrate laboratory results data with outcomes data from other health system players. Some large clinical laboratory companies have reported making large in
9 Although the federal government’s jurisdiction is limited, the United States Code does include statutory rape laws. See 18 U.S.C.A. § 2241 and § 2243.
Each state summary highlights the required response of the state and local agencies that receive reports of suspected child abuse. State statutes vary in the level of detail they provide. Generally they include requirements addressing which entities, if any, the agency receiving the initial report must notify, the timeframe for this notification,
Each state’s reporting requirements identify certain individuals who are required to notify the authorities of suspected abuse. Although it varies by state, mandated reporters are typically individuals who encounter children through their professional capacity . In Pennsylvania, the statute requires all individuals who encounter a case of abu
Statutory Rape: A Guide to State Laws and Reporting Requirements. Inclusion of Statutory Rape in Reporting Requirements
State statutes vary in the extent to which statutory rape is included in the reporting requirements. In approximately one-third of the states, mandated reporting is limited to those situations where the abuse was perpetrated or allowed by a person responsible for the care of the child. 26 Consider the example of Virginia. Child abuse, a reportabl
Statutory Rape: A Guide to State Laws and Reporting Requirements. Child Abuse Reporting Requirements
Statutory rape reporting requirements are generally found in the sections of states’ codes that deal with juveniles, children and families, domestic relationships, or social services, whereas the criminal or penal codes address the legality of specific offenses. This section of the report summarizes states’ child abuse reporting requirements a
States’ laws addressing sexual activity involving minors are usually included in the section of the criminal code devoted to sexual offenses. Each state summary ( Section III ) includes a table detailing all of the offenses in the statute that deal with statutory rape.
States’ statutory rape offenses detail the age at which an individual can legally consent to sexual activity. This section focuses on laws addressing sexual intercourse . 10 Table 1 summarizes, where applicable, each state’s:
Statutory Rape: A Guide to State Laws and Reporting Requirements. Statutory Rape — Criminal Offenses
As noted above, few states use the term statutory rape in their codes. Instead, criminal codes specify the legality of specific sexual acts. The applicable laws are often embedded in the section of the code dealing with other sexual offenses (e.g., sexual assault, forcible rape).